Strict Standards: Redefining already defined constructor for class XML_Parser in /home/sites/ on line 1188

Strict Standards: Declaration of XML_Parser::raiseError() should be compatible with PEAR::raiseError($message = NULL, $code = NULL, $mode = NULL, $options = NULL, $userinfo = NULL, $error_class = NULL, $skipmsg = false) in /home/sites/ on line 1604

Strict Standards: Declaration of XML_Unserializer::startHandler() should be compatible with XML_Parser::startHandler($xp, $elem, &$attribs) in /home/sites/ on line 3503

Strict Standards: Declaration of Cache_Lite_File::get() should be compatible with Cache_Lite::get($id, $group = 'default', $doNotTestCacheValidity = false) in /home/sites/ on line 1020
American Poems: Music: Tell Tale Signs: the Bootleg Series Vol. 8
Home & Garden
Kindle eBooks
Outdoor Living
Tools & Hardware
PC & Video Games
 Home » Music » Tell Tale Signs: the Bootleg Series Vol. 8

Tell Tale Signs: the Bootleg Series Vol. 8

Tell Tale Signs: the Bootleg Series Vol. 8
Other Views:
  • List Price: $22.98
  • Buy New: $13.30
  • as of 7/31/2014 12:51 EDT details
  • You Save: $9.68 (42%)
In Stock
New (33) Used (32) from $8.93
  • Seller:dolphywas1/Ion Records
  • Sales Rank:7,225
  • Languages:English (Unknown), English (Original Language)
  • Media:Audio CD
  • Discs:2
  • Shipping Weight (lbs):0.3
  • Dimensions (in):5.6 x 4.9 x 0.7
  • Release Date:October 7, 2008
  • MPN:886973579527
  • UPC:886973579527
  • EAN:0886973579527
  • ASIN:B001D06SEI
Availability:Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Brand Name: SONY BMG MUSIC Mfg#: 00004382
  • Shipping Weight: 0.42 lbs
  • Manufacturer:
  • Genre: Popular Music
  • All music products are properly licensed and guaranteed authentic.

Disc 1 Tracks
  • Mississippi 6:04 (Unreleased, Time Out of Mind)
  • Most of the Time 3:46 (Alternate version, Oh Mercy)
  • Dignity 2:09 (Piano demo, Oh Mercy)
  • Someday Baby 5:56 (Alternate version, Modern Times)
  • Red River Shore 7:36 (Unreleased, Time Out of Mind)
  • Tell Ol' Bill 5:31 (Alternate version, North Country soundtrack)
  • Born in Time 4:10 (Unreleased, Oh Mercy)
  • Can't Wait 5:45 (Alternate version, Time Out of Mind)
  • Everything is Broken 3:27 (Alternate version, Oh Mercy)
  • Dreamin' of You 6:23 (Unreleased, Time Out Of Mind)
  • Huck's Tune 4:09 (From Lucky You soundtrack)
  • Marchin' to the City 6:36 (Unreleased, Time Out of Mind)
  • High Water (For Charley Patton) 6:40 (Live, August 23, 2003, Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada)
Disc 2 Tracks
  • Mississippi 6:24 (Unreleased version #2, Time Out of Mind)
  • 32-20 Blues 4:22 (Unreleased, World Gone Wrong)
  • Series of Dreams 6:27 (Unreleased, Oh Mercy)
  • God Knows 3:12 (Unreleased, Oh Mercy)
  • Can't Escape from You 5:22 (Unreleased, December 2005)
  • Dignity 5:25 (Unreleased, Oh Mercy)
  • Ring Them Bells 4:59 (Live at The Supper Club, November 17, 1993, New York, NY)
  • Cocaine Blues 5:30 (Live, August 24, 1997, Vienna, VA)
  • Ain't Talkin' 6:13 (Alternate version, Modern Times)
  • The Girl on the Greenbriar Shore 2:51 (Live, June 30, 1992,Dunkerque, France)
  • Lonesome Day Blues 7:37 (Live, February 1, 2002, Sunrise, FL)
  • Miss the Mississippi 3:20 (Unreleased, 1992)
  • The Lonesome River 3:04 (With Ralph Stanley, from the album Clinch Mountain Country)
  • 'Cross the Green Mountain 8:15 (From Gods and Generals Soundtrack)

Editorial Reviews:
Two CD set of 2008 release of Bob Dylan Vol. 8 Tell Tale Signs: The Bootleg series with rare and unleashed material from 1989 - 2006. A treasure-trove of 27 songs spanning two discs, Tell Tale Signs features previously unreleased recordings and alternate versions of tracks from sessions which generated some of Bob Dylan's most acclaimed and commercially successful albums from the last two decades, including Time Out Of Mind, 'Love And Theft', Modern Times and Oh Mercy.
Bob Dylan's unpredictable nature has always kept his audience on their toes. Given his mood, a song performed on one day can seem like an entirely different composition on the next. On the two-CD Tell Tale Signs: The Bootleg Series Vol. 8--certainly one of the most riveting of the Minnesota bard's collections of unreleased recordings, studio demos, alternate takes, and live tracks--two versions of "Mississippi," which Dylan originally wrote for Time Out of Mind, bear that out. The first, where he is backed only by producer Daniel Lanois' poignant electric guitar, finds him wistful in his memories of Rosie. But by disc two, where he reprises the song with a whole band, his reading of the same lyric is dispassionate, as if he were recounting the experience of "the stranger that nobody sees," as he puts it. While the second rendition disappoints, the 27-song album, which covers material from 1989's Oh Mercy through 2006's Modern Times, offers a king's riches. In replacing the banjo with cranked-up electric guitars on a blistering live performance of "High Water (For Charley Patton)," he makes the song nearly an angry manifesto. (Another live song, "Ring Them Bells," thrills with the stunning raw power of his early performances, and renders the studio original utterly bland.) Not everything seems up to Dylan's remarkable standards (conjuring a black R & B voice for "Can't Escape From You," an homage to early rock and roll, seems off kilter and silly). But the breadth and scope of the material (from sneering and tender folk originals, to covers of Jimmie Rodgers and Robert Johnson blues, to a collaboration with bluegrass king Ralph Stanley, and side excursions into ragtime and waltz) reinforce his position as the premier songwriter of his generation. -– Alanna Nash

Brought to you by American Poems