Strict Standards: Redefining already defined constructor for class XML_Parser in /home/sites/ on line 1188

Strict Standards: Declaration of XML_Parser::raiseError() should be compatible with PEAR::raiseError($message = NULL, $code = NULL, $mode = NULL, $options = NULL, $userinfo = NULL, $error_class = NULL, $skipmsg = false) in /home/sites/ on line 1604

Strict Standards: Declaration of XML_Unserializer::startHandler() should be compatible with XML_Parser::startHandler($xp, $elem, &$attribs) in /home/sites/ on line 3503

Strict Standards: Declaration of Cache_Lite_File::get() should be compatible with Cache_Lite::get($id, $group = 'default', $doNotTestCacheValidity = false) in /home/sites/ on line 1020
American Poems: Music: The Great American Songbook Collection (4CD/DVD)
Home & Garden
Kindle eBooks
Outdoor Living
Tools & Hardware
PC & Video Games
 Home » Music » The Great American Songbook Collection (4CD/DVD)

The Great American Songbook Collection (4CD/DVD)

The Great American Songbook Collection (4CD/DVD)
Other Views:
  • List Price: $39.98
  • Buy New: $30.75
  • as of 1/26/2015 14:17 EST details
  • You Save: $9.23 (23%)
In Stock
New (28) Used (12) from $11.75
  • Seller:-importcds
  • Sales Rank:6,579
  • Format:Box set
  • Language:English (Unknown)
  • Media:Audio CD
  • Number Of Discs:4
  • Discs:5
  • Shipping Weight (lbs):0.9
  • Dimensions (in):9.5 x 5.8 x 0.8
  • Publication Date:July 23, 2009
  • UPC:082876714922
  • EAN:0082876714922
  • ASIN:B000BNI99K
Availability:Usually ships in 1-2 business days

Disc 1 Tracks
  • You Go To My Head (feat Dave Koz)
  • They Can't Take That Away From Me (feat Arturo Sandoval)
  • The Way You Look Tonight
  • It Had to Be You (feat Michael Brecker)
  • That Old Feeling (feat Arturo Sandoval)
  • These Foolish Things (feat Dave Koz)
  • The Very Thought of You
  • Moonglow (feat Arturo Sandoval)
  • I'll Be Seeing You
  • Everytime We Say Goodbye (feat Dave Koz)
  • The Nearness of You
  • For All We Know
  • We'll Be Together Again
  • That's All
Disc 2 Tracks
  • Time After Time
  • I’m In The Mood For Love
  • Don’t Get Around Much Anymore
  • Bewitched, Bothered & Bewildered (Duet with Cher)
  • 'Till There Was You
  • Until The Real Thing Comes Along
  • Where Or When
  • Smile
  • My Heart Stood Still
  • Someone To Watch Over Me
  • As Time Goes By (Duet with Queen Latifah)
  • I Only Have Eyes For You
  • Crazy She Calls Me
  • Our Love Is Here To Stay
Disc 3 Tracks
  • Embraceable You
  • For Sentimental Reasons (feat Dave Koz)
  • Blue Moon (feat Eric Clapton)
  • What A Wonderful World (feat Stevie Wonder)
  • Stardust
  • Manhattan (duet with Bette Midler)
  • S'Wonderful (feat Dave Grusin)
  • Isn't It Romantic (feat Dave Koz)
  • I Can't Get Started
  • But Not For Me
  • Kiss To Build A Dream On (feat Arturo Sandoval)
  • Baby, It's Cold Outside (duet with Dolly Parton)
  • Night And Day
  • A Nightingale Sang In Berkeley Square
Disc 4 Tracks
  • I've Got a Crush on You - Diana Ross
  • I Wish You Love
  • You Send Me
  • Long Ago and Far Away
  • Makin' Whoopee
  • My One and Only Love - Chaka Khan
  • Taking a Chance on Love
  • My Funny Valentine
  • I've Got My Love to Keep Me Warm - Elton John
  • Nevertheless
  • Blue Skies
  • Let's Fall in Love
  • Thanks for the Memory

Editorial Reviews:
The Great American Songbook Collection contains all four volumes of Rod's groundbreaking series plus a bonus DVD of live recordings and the music videos for 'These Foolish Things' and 'Time After Time'. J Records. 2005.
Often as people age, they grow more interested in ancestry. Rod Stewart's musical family tree certainly includes the great crooners of the past--those who took the pop songs included in his Great American Songbook series and turned them into standards. It's fitting, that he should find a late middle-age career revival by paying homage to the music that paved the way for rock clubs, discothèques, and screaming groupies the world over. Stewart's series has only grown stronger since it debuted with It Had to Be You. Most vocalists could spend sleepless nights trying to figure out how to make "Until the Real Thing Comes Along" their own. It's no problem for Rod. His jetsetter barring coupled with that unmistakable, husky voice is more than enough for him to leave his own stamp on the songs. And with the addition of guest stars from Cher to Chaka Kahn, well, there's a little something for everyone… especially those who remember when "Do Ya Think I'm Sexy" was haunting the charts. For fans who sampled and loved a portion of this collection, the box set is a handsome addition to their library. It contains not only the four American Songbook CDs, but a DVD sampler of concert footage. (The set says "Big Band Era." The saxophonist in the mini skirt says it's a Rod Stewart show.) There's also a booklet of glamour shots featuring Rod and one or more leggy blondes, and notes on Stewart's musical career. Rod doesn’t quite convey the ease performing these tunes on stage that he does on the CDs, and the bio is far from unbiased, but who can help but love this music? Especially for sentimental reasons. --Leah Weathersby

Brought to you by American Poems