Strict Standards: Redefining already defined constructor for class XML_Parser in /home/sites/www.americanpoems.com/web/store/aom/includes/os.php on line 1188

Strict Standards: Declaration of XML_Parser::raiseError() should be compatible with PEAR::raiseError($message = NULL, $code = NULL, $mode = NULL, $options = NULL, $userinfo = NULL, $error_class = NULL, $skipmsg = false) in /home/sites/www.americanpoems.com/web/store/aom/includes/os.php on line 1604

Strict Standards: Declaration of XML_Unserializer::startHandler() should be compatible with XML_Parser::startHandler($xp, $elem, &$attribs) in /home/sites/www.americanpoems.com/web/store/aom/includes/os.php on line 3503

Strict Standards: Declaration of Cache_Lite_File::get() should be compatible with Cache_Lite::get($id, $group = 'default', $doNotTestCacheValidity = false) in /home/sites/www.americanpoems.com/web/store/aom/includes/cache.php on line 1020
American Poems: Kindle eBooks: Axeman's Jazz: A Female Cop, an Obsessed Killer, an Offbeat New Orleans Setting; Skip Langdon Mystery #2 (The Skip Langdon Series)
Home
Apparel
Appliances
Books
DVD
Electronics
Home & Garden
Kindle eBooks
Magazines
Music
Outdoor Living
Software
Tools & Hardware
PC & Video Games
Location:
 Home » Kindle eBooks » Axeman's Jazz: A Female Cop, an Obsessed Killer, an Offbeat New Orleans Setting; Skip Langdon Mystery #2 (The Skip Langdon Series)

Axeman's Jazz: A Female Cop, an Obsessed Killer, an Offbeat New Orleans Setting; Skip Langdon Mystery #2 (The Skip Langdon Series)

In Stock
Buy
  • Sales Rank:15,234
  • Format:Kindle eBook
  • Language:English (Published)
  • Media:Kindle Edition
  • Pages:372
  • Publication Date:January 16, 2014
  • ASIN:B007YCEW10


Editorial Reviews:
Synopsis
The SECOND book in the Edgar Award-winning Skip Langdon mystery series by Julie Smith.

"A multilayered masterpiece ... I read this one on the E train at 5:15 a.m. and didn't look up once. . . . Julie Smith's New Orleans is a subterranean Mardi Gras where the masks cover smiling sociopaths and even Deadly Nightshade comes sheathed in silk." -Andrew Vachss

Gritty, witty, & mesmerizing! Langdon is a splendid female heroine.” –People Magazine

WHAT’S THE PERFECT KILLING FIELD FOR A MURDERER?

A place where he (or maybe she) can learn your secrets from your own mouth and then make friends over coffee. A supposedly "safe" place where anonymity is the norm. The horror who calls himself The Axeman has figured it out and claimed his territory—he's cherry-picking his victims in the 12-Step programs of New Orleans.

And he's had the gall to name himself after a historical serial killer. He just needs to go down, and fast, because this is New Aw'lins, dawlin'—half the town is either alcoholic or co-dependent!

Who better to take him out than tall, funny, social-misfit Skip Langdon, now a homicide detective on the Axeman team, a gig that takes her into the 12-Step groups to meet the suspects (giving author Julie Smith a chance for gentle satire). As Skip threads her fascinated way from one self-help group to another, she finds she has more in common with the twelve-steppers than just the murder—her mother, for one thing, whom she encounters at Overeaters Anonymous! And she knows what they do not: that among their anonymous numbers is a murderous, and dangerously attractive psychopath…

"Smashing . . . New Orleans Mourning was a tough act to follow. The Axeman’s Jazz is a wonderful, completely satisfying encore." -The Denver Post

"Julie Smith not only firmly establishes her claim to the New Orleans crime scene, but she explores an intriguing new franchise for the serial killer." –Sue Grafton

"Marvelous!" –Chicago Tribune

An action-packed psychological thriller for fans of Showtime's DEXTER, Ace Atkins, Laura Lippman, Sue Grafton, Linda Barnes, Nevada Barr, and Marcia Muller.

Excerpt:
"Langdon! In here!" Joe sounded furious.

"What is it? Did somebody leak the scarlet A's?"

"Worse. I swear to God it's worse."

With a pair of tweezers, he handed Skip a letter, typed on plain white paper. "Look at this."

It said:

Dear Broadcaster:
You probably remember me. The first time, I wrote to the print media, but there was no television then. I also used an axe. That, of course, would be messy in this day and age and I have two perfectly good hands to strangle with. So forget the axe, but I'm still who I am. My signature is awritten in blood. I kill whom I need to kill, both women and men.

As I mentioned before, they never caught me and they never will. I am not a human being, but an extraterrestrial. (Or perhaps that is the best way you can understand it.) I am what you Orleanians used to call the Axeman—make no mistake, I'm back.
It's me.

I'm baaaaaack.

Here's the deal: It's the same as before. Jazz is the lifeblood of this great city of ours—it was then and it is now. It's the only constant, the only universal. My spaceship lands Tuesday, and I'll be out for blood. (Did you know we extraterrestrials are vampires?) But I have an endless supply of infinite mercy and I will show it to anyone in whose home a jazz band is playing between the hours of 7 p.m. and daylight. Take heed—you will be spared!

But no matter if you aren't, my infinite mercy extends to my victims. I am quick and I am painless. Ask Linda Lee and Tom.

THE AXEMAN.

CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON SERVICES LLC. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED ‘AS IS’ AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.
Brought to you by American Poems