Strict Standards: Redefining already defined constructor for class XML_Parser in /home/sites/www.americanpoems.com/web/store/aom/includes/os.php on line 1188

Strict Standards: Declaration of XML_Parser::raiseError() should be compatible with PEAR::raiseError($message = NULL, $code = NULL, $mode = NULL, $options = NULL, $userinfo = NULL, $error_class = NULL, $skipmsg = false) in /home/sites/www.americanpoems.com/web/store/aom/includes/os.php on line 1604

Strict Standards: Declaration of XML_Unserializer::startHandler() should be compatible with XML_Parser::startHandler($xp, $elem, &$attribs) in /home/sites/www.americanpoems.com/web/store/aom/includes/os.php on line 3503

Strict Standards: Declaration of Cache_Lite_File::get() should be compatible with Cache_Lite::get($id, $group = 'default', $doNotTestCacheValidity = false) in /home/sites/www.americanpoems.com/web/store/aom/includes/cache.php on line 1020
American Poems: Kindle eBooks: Overlay: A Tale of One Girl's Life in 1970s Las Vegas (Memoirs of Marlayna Glynn Brown)
Home
Apparel
Appliances
Books
DVD
Electronics
Home & Garden
Kindle eBooks
Magazines
Music
Outdoor Living
Software
Tools & Hardware
PC & Video Games
Location:
 Home » Kindle eBooks » Overlay: A Tale of One Girl's Life in 1970s Las Vegas (Memoirs of Marlayna Glynn Brown)

Overlay: A Tale of One Girl's Life in 1970s Las Vegas (Memoirs of Marlayna Glynn Brown)

In Stock
Buy
  • Sales Rank:9,759
  • Format:Kindle eBook
  • Language:English (Published)
  • Media:Kindle Edition
  • Pages:264
  • Publication Date:January 16, 2014
  • ASIN:B007IKDI0Y


Editorial Reviews:
Synopsis
*2013 Winner of a Next Generation Indie Book Award*

Fans of The Glass Castle, The Liar's Club and Angela's Ashes will appreciate this award-winning true tale of survival and resilience recorded in spare and convincing prose. This memoir describes the author's turbulent 1970s Las Vegas childhood in a haunting voice full of simple youthful perception.

Born into an ongoing cycle of alcoholism and abandonment amidst fallen adults, Marlayna develops a powerful sense of self-preservation in contrast to the people entrusted with her care. Her profound story explores the characters and events populating her life as she moves from home to home, parent to parent, family to family, ultimately becoming homeless at the age of fourteen.

Out of the resources of her remarkable childhood emerges an inner strength that will charm and captivate readers and remain in their consciousness long after the last page of her story has been turned.

"The language of gambling makes an interesting and recurrent motif throughout this memoir, asserting that it is only by chance that any one of us could have traveled this very same road. Decks are shuffled, hands are played. An ultimately uplifting, beautifully written, and inspiring memoir." - Fiona Edmonds

CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON SERVICES LLC. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED ‘AS IS’ AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.
Brought to you by American Poems