Strict Standards: Redefining already defined constructor for class XML_Parser in /home/sites/www.americanpoems.com/web/store/aom/includes/os.php on line 1188

Strict Standards: Declaration of XML_Parser::raiseError() should be compatible with PEAR::raiseError($message = NULL, $code = NULL, $mode = NULL, $options = NULL, $userinfo = NULL, $error_class = NULL, $skipmsg = false) in /home/sites/www.americanpoems.com/web/store/aom/includes/os.php on line 1604

Strict Standards: Declaration of XML_Unserializer::startHandler() should be compatible with XML_Parser::startHandler($xp, $elem, &$attribs) in /home/sites/www.americanpoems.com/web/store/aom/includes/os.php on line 3503

Strict Standards: Declaration of Cache_Lite_File::get() should be compatible with Cache_Lite::get($id, $group = 'default', $doNotTestCacheValidity = false) in /home/sites/www.americanpoems.com/web/store/aom/includes/cache.php on line 1020
American Poems: Kindle eBooks: Take No More (The murder mystery thriller): (US Edition) (James Blake Book 1)
Home
Apparel
Appliances
Books
DVD
Electronics
Home & Garden
Kindle eBooks
Magazines
Music
Outdoor Living
Software
Tools & Hardware
PC & Video Games
Location:
 Home » Kindle eBooks » Take No More (The murder mystery thriller): (US Edition) (James Blake Book 1)

Take No More (The murder mystery thriller): (US Edition) (James Blake Book 1)

In Stock
Buy
  • Sales Rank:140,966
  • Format:Kindle eBook
  • Language:English (Published)
  • Media:Kindle Edition
  • Pages:242
  • Publication Date:December 19, 2013
  • ASIN:B004EYUH9C


Editorial Reviews:
Synopsis

Amazon Top 20 bestseller crime novel



From international bestselling author Seb Kirby, TAKE NO MORE is a captivating story of crime, corruption and conspiracy. It is a must-read for fans of Harlan Coben, Daniel Silva and all who enjoy a thought provoking and exciting mystery thriller.

An artistic voyage in crime - thrilling and original



When James Blake discovers his wife murdered in their London home, he is determined to find her killer. As the prime suspect, he flees England and sets out on a journey that takes him to Florence and Venice and into a dark underworld of corruption, a trail that will lead him to the killer - and the shocking truth behind the mystery.

Praise for Take No More:



★★★★★ 'Wow! This is action-packed from page one, and the reader is instantly thrust into murder, suspense, and intrigue...... I'd recommend this to anyone who enjoys a great crime thriller! And fans of Harlan Coben and Simon Kernick will love it!' - (Author Sibel Hodge, amazon.com)

★★★★★ 'It was a few pages before I realized what I was reading: a sort of modern noir. I walked in the hero's shoes, was privy to his thoughts and intruded on his emotions as he was drawn into the mystery of his wife's death. Kirby's spare yet rich prose, his perfect word choices, made this a work that appeared to be effortlessly constructed. That seamlessness is the hallmark of a gifted writer. Definitely recommended.' (International bestseller Rebecca Forster, amazon.com)

★★★★★ 'If you like Daniel Silva, you'll love 'Take No More' .....my favorite kind of thriller...' (International bestseller Libby Fischer Hellmann, amazon.com)

★★★★★ 'The comparisons with Harlan Coben are well merited because this is a gripping thriller in the same vein. It begins with the aftermath of a violent act and doesn't let up until the end. As an author who always aims for momentum and suspense myself, I take my hat off to Kirby.' (International bestseller John Harding, amazon.com)

Q&A with Seb Kirby



Q: Why did you want to write about an ordinary person suddenly placed in a situation where they have to face up to murder and organized crime?

Most of the time I get more from ordinary, flawed, people in situations that take them out of their normal lives. Then things get interesting as you see how they struggle with what seems for them to be impossible odds. I want to resolve things in the end on their side - my way, if you like, of righting some of the wrongs. So, what would you do if the mob targeted you and your family for murder and you had only the faintest clues as to why they were after you?

Q: Why does art crime feature as a main theme of the series?

After drugs and guns, art crime is the third largest international crime. One estimate puts it at $6 billion each year. Organized crime is behind many of the most notorious art thefts. Stolen works of art are used as a form of currency between mob members. I have a long term interest in art. Before I took up full time writing, much of my work included methods used to restore paintings and sculpture. It seemed natural to draw on this in creating the world that James Blake is drawn into. Uncovering what lies beneath a work of art and its history is also a good vehicle for developing the mystery and suspense that I’ve worked hard to capture in the series.

Q: Did these books start out as a series or did that idea develop over time?

I wrote the first book, ‘Take No More’ as a one-off. It’s a story complete in itself. Then, the inevitable happened. The characters I’d created began to take on a life of their own and the further stories ‘Regret No More’ and ‘Forgive No More’ demanded to be written. In ‘Regret No More’ art theft and a sophisticated conspiracy to cheat collectors out of millions takes centre stage while ‘Forgive No More’ tells of the wider conspiracy that underlies this branch of organized crime. Each is a story complete in itself.

CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON SERVICES LLC. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED ‘AS IS’ AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.
Brought to you by American Poems