Strict Standards: Redefining already defined constructor for class XML_Parser in /home/sites/www.americanpoems.com/web/store/aom/includes/os.php on line 1188

Strict Standards: Declaration of XML_Parser::raiseError() should be compatible with PEAR::raiseError($message = NULL, $code = NULL, $mode = NULL, $options = NULL, $userinfo = NULL, $error_class = NULL, $skipmsg = false) in /home/sites/www.americanpoems.com/web/store/aom/includes/os.php on line 1604

Strict Standards: Declaration of XML_Unserializer::startHandler() should be compatible with XML_Parser::startHandler($xp, $elem, &$attribs) in /home/sites/www.americanpoems.com/web/store/aom/includes/os.php on line 3503

Strict Standards: Declaration of Cache_Lite_File::get() should be compatible with Cache_Lite::get($id, $group = 'default', $doNotTestCacheValidity = false) in /home/sites/www.americanpoems.com/web/store/aom/includes/cache.php on line 1020
American Poems: Books: Giraffes Can't Dance: Bigger Book
Home
Apparel
Appliances
Books
DVD
Electronics
Home & Garden
Kindle eBooks
Magazines
Music
Outdoor Living
Software
Tools & Hardware
PC & Video Games
Location:
 Home » Books » Giraffes Can't Dance: Bigger Book

Giraffes Can't Dance: Bigger Book

In Stock
Buy
  • Sales Rank:14,143,765
  • Languages:English (Unknown), English (Original Language), English (Published)
  • Media:Paperback
  • Pages:32
  • Shipping Weight (lbs):1.1
  • Dimensions (in):14.2 x 0.2 x 17.5
  • Publication Date:March 28, 2002
  • ISBN:1841214647
  • EAN:9781841214641
  • ASIN:1841214647

Also Available In:


Editorial Reviews:
Synopsis
"Hey, look at clumsy Gerald," The animals all laughed, "Giraffes can't dance you silly fool Oh Gerald, don't be daft!" Cha-cha with the chimps and rock'n'roll with the rhino in this funny and very moving story about Gerald the Giraffe who longs to dance - but is laughed off the dance floor. Hilarious illustrations complement Giles Andreae's rollicking rhyme, and the story unwinds to a funny, touching and very happy ending. The picture book was on the Sheffield Children's Book of the Year Commended list. 'This rhyming poem is excellent, and begs to be read out loud." THE BOOKSELLER
Amazon.com Review
Gerald the giraffe doesn't really have delusions of grandeur. He just wants to dance. But his knees are crooked and his legs are thin, and all the other animals mock him when he approaches the dance floor at the annual Jungle Dance. "Hey, look at clumsy Gerald," they sneer. "Oh, Gerald, you're so weird." Poor Gerald slinks away as the chimps cha-cha, rhinos rock 'n' roll, and warthogs waltz. But an encouraging word from an unlikely source shows this glum giraffe that those who are different "just need a different song," and soon he is prancing and sashaying and boogying to moon music (with a cricket accompanist). In the vein of Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer, Gerald's fickle "friends" quickly decide he's worthy of their attention again.

With this rhyming, poignant (in a cartoonish way) tale, Giles Andreae, author of Rumble in the Jungle, and numerous other picture books, shows insecure young readers that everyone can be wonderful, even those that march to the beat of a different cricket. The rhymes are somewhat awkward, but the bold, bright watercolors by Guy Parker-Rees will invite readers to kick up their heels and find their own internal harmony. (Ages 3 to 6) --Emilie Coulter


CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON SERVICES LLC. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED ‘AS IS’ AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.
Brought to you by American Poems