Strict Standards: Redefining already defined constructor for class XML_Parser in /home/sites/www.americanpoems.com/web/store/aom/includes/os.php on line 1188

Strict Standards: Declaration of XML_Parser::raiseError() should be compatible with PEAR::raiseError($message = NULL, $code = NULL, $mode = NULL, $options = NULL, $userinfo = NULL, $error_class = NULL, $skipmsg = false) in /home/sites/www.americanpoems.com/web/store/aom/includes/os.php on line 1604

Strict Standards: Declaration of XML_Unserializer::startHandler() should be compatible with XML_Parser::startHandler($xp, $elem, &$attribs) in /home/sites/www.americanpoems.com/web/store/aom/includes/os.php on line 3503

Strict Standards: Declaration of Cache_Lite_File::get() should be compatible with Cache_Lite::get($id, $group = 'default', $doNotTestCacheValidity = false) in /home/sites/www.americanpoems.com/web/store/aom/includes/cache.php on line 1020
American Poems: Books: The Determined Days: Poems (Sewanee Writers' Series)
Home
Apparel
Appliances
Books
DVD
Electronics
Home & Garden
Kindle eBooks
Magazines
Music
Outdoor Living
Software
Tools & Hardware
PC & Video Games
Location:
 Home » Books » The Determined Days: Poems (Sewanee Writers' Series)

The Determined Days: Poems (Sewanee Writers' Series)

  • List Price: $19.95
  • Buy New: $4.61
  • as of 11/28/2014 07:20 EST details
  • You Save: $15.34 (77%)
In Stock
New (16) Used (58) from $0.01
  • Seller:Aliand_LLC
  • Sales Rank:2,603,590
  • Languages:English (Unknown), English (Original Language), English (Published)
  • Media:Hardcover
  • Number Of Items:1
  • Edition:1
  • Pages:92
  • Shipping Weight (lbs):0.5
  • Dimensions (in):5.5 x 0.5 x 7.3
  • Publication Date:June 5, 2000
  • ISBN:1585670146
  • EAN:9781585670147
  • ASIN:1585670146
Availability:Usually ships in 1-2 business days

Features:
  • Used Book in Good Condition


Editorial Reviews:
Synopsis
A remarkable debut collection of poems in the tradition of Browning and Frost

The latest in the Sewanee Writer's Series published by the Overlook Press, Philip Stephens's The Determined Days presents far-ranging urban and rural locales in the Midwest, the Ozarks, and northern California. In each of these bleak landscapes, Stephens introduces us to a host of unforgettable characters: a former gravedigger who believes ghosts stole his first-born; a young couple forced to stay the night at a motel run by a pornography-watching desk clerk; a woman haunted by a headless deer; a gang of railroad signalmen who get through their exhausting workdays by telling stories, arguing, and vying for what power they can gain in an indifferent world.

Throughout this stunning collection, characters tell tales to bring order to their disappointing and already-determined days. Ironic, sometimes tragic, and always provocative, The Determined Days is a startling reevaluation of the ideas of labor, life, and relationships--as well as the expectations of contemporary American poetry.

"These vigorous, sometimes brutal, poems are famillialy related as well as indebted to Frost's blank verse.... Read as a whole--as they should be--the cumulative effect of this truly accomplished collections is powerful, disturbing, and authoritative. I am filled with admiration for Mr. Stephens's work."--Anthony Hecht

CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON SERVICES LLC. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED ‘AS IS’ AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.
Brought to you by American Poems
Subcategories